Upgrading system advice needed

C_Nash

I’m considering a few possible upgrade routes for my system and am looking for some input from fellow McIntosh enthusiasts. First off, let me tell you what my system currently consists of:
I’ve been using a C26 and MR73 for about the last 5 years. I purchased a MC2505 about 2 years ago to complete the set and have been quite happy listening to these pieces. For records, my main table is an Optonica RP-3636 with an Ortofon 2M Blue. I also, have a Dual 522 automatic table with an Ortofon OM10 for my Fiance’s use. My speakers are Micro Acoustics FRM-2’s which I meticulously refurbished 5 years ago (Most seem to dislike these speakers but I appreciate them). Much of my listening is with my turntables and I can’t help but think I could get more out of my records if I upgraded to a newer McIntosh preamp. By newer I mean newer than a C26…I’m looking to spend <$2K

Here are my thoughts on upgrading that I’ve been tossing around for the past few weeks…

1)Replace the C26/MR73 with either a C29, C32, or C33 and a MR74 or MR78

2)Replace the C26/MR73 with a MX117

3)Replace the C26/MR73/MC2505 with a MX117 and MC2155

If you have any experience with the gear I’m considering, I would greatly appreciate any information.

Thanks in advance!

Try a better pair speaker first before upgrade the electronic. Some specialty audio shop let you bring the speaker home and try out or borrow from your friend. With 2k you can buy a good used pair of speaker and will improve your system better than upgrade to another used equipment. Mcintosh used gear is expensive and 2k won't get you far

C33/34 and MR78 would be my move, but might be a stretch to get both for 2K, in which case I would choose to go for the C33/34

As the main area you're looking to improve is the phono, I agree with Kev and simply concentrate on upgrading the preamplifier for the time being.