1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

Using a multimeter on a circuit board

Discussion in 'Solid State' started by CavScout, Nov 6, 2018.

1. CavScout

CavScout Well-Known Member

I am fairly new to working on electronics but I am learning.

One challenge that I have had is testing the parts (caps, resistors, transistors etc).
    The top of the board is almost impossible to take readings from and the back of the board is an incredibly hard to follow map (especially when you can't position the receiver in a position for easy board access).
    Online schematics are faded and hard to read.
    Is there a trick I am missing here ?

Please register to disable this ad.

2. dbxdx5

dbxdx5 AK Subscriber Subscriber

Other people will have their own methods, but when I can't make out what's what on the solder side of the board, I try to stand the unit on its side and shine a pen light from the component side. That usually helps me get close enough to figure out what I'm looking at.

Lavane likes this.
  3. elnaldo

elnaldo Addicted Member

+1. Also, try to locate some hole, heat-sink, screw, whatever you can see from both sides of the board, and use it as a reference, then mark with a marker on the solder side the components you need to measure. Checking continuity ("beep") with the meter from one side of the board to the solder side can help to verify you are at the right component.

Anyway, I don't see any trick you are missing. If schematic is not readable, board not accessible, not too much you can do. I'd remove the board if needed. Find the less invasive method. Sometimes you spend a lot of time to do some work without disassembling , and it takes longer than disassembling, work faster, and assemble again.

Hyperion, merlynski and dlucy like this.
  4. CavScout