Vintage handmade turntable. Can't stop the buzz...

eogie

Hi folks,

I'm new to this stuff. I recently picked up this turntable at a barn sale. I absolutely love the aesthetics of this thing, although I'll be building a new box/surround for it as that part is pretty damn crude.

So, I can't figure out where the buzz is coming from. There's no ground(unless the cartridge is internally grounded?). I replaced the tonearm wires and the buzz just got worse. I then found that one of the RCA plugs was loose/broken internally so I swapped out the RCA cables for another set and the buzz persisted and changed. Should I swap out the entire assembly all the way to the pre-amp? Cartridge is a Pickering XV-15.

Any help would be much appreciated. Again, I'm a novice so judge lightly.

0-6 by ,

0-4 by ,

The black wire was connected before so that wasn't the problem.
0-2 by ,

And my sloppy repair job...
0-3 by ,

Last edited:
Is the arm grounded to the chassis?

I'd ditch those ancient RCA jacks, that right there might be the source of the hum (ie: poor electrical contact due to oxidation).

Is the arm grounded to the chassis?

I'd ditch those ancient RCA jacks, that right there might be the source of the hum (ie: poor electrical contact due to oxidation).

What RCA jacks should I replace them with? If the chassis is wood, how do I ground to it?

Thank you!

Most phono stages, even on vintage receivers/amps, have a ground screw. Run the ground wire, along with the signal wires, from the turntable to the input on your pre/amp/receiver.

Most phono stages, even on vintage receivers/amps, have a ground screw. Run the ground wire, along with the signal wires, from the turntable to the input on your pre/amp/receiver.

I tried doing that but I think there are other issues keeping me from trouble shooting the ground. I think I just want to replace all of it. Any pointers would be much appreciated.