Voice of Music model 869 new to me--and I am new to tubes

Looking4help

I won a VM model 869 at an estate auction a few years ago for $2. It is in good shape. it came with schematics for its pre-amp (VM#20026) and its amp (#20053), and its original bill of sale ($360.00 on March 17, 1964).

right after I got it, I fixed the record player with a little bit of work and parts from Gary Stork at V-M Audio Enthusiasts.

Now I want to use it more regularly, but sound is only coming out of the right side. I tried trading the speaker wires between A and B, and then sound only came out of the left side, so it looks like I have a problem in the preamp or in the amp, not in the speakers.

Are these things difficult to fix? I do not know where to begin. Is there a procedure to follow, or do I just take it to a shop?

Thanks!

Well the fact that you are asking about how to fix it does not inspire confidence in your experience with tubed equipment. The fact that you paid only a few bucks means you are way ahead of the game and if you are serious about reviving the equipment then getting someone to refurbish it for you will bring your costs to about what one would pay for an unrestored unit. That being said if you want to start to learn how to work on tube stuff then your initial cost makes mucking it up not a big tragedy, after all it is not a McIntosh. So you decided to give it a go! read on.