VW Golf stationwagon

i've been driving GTIs the last several years, a '13 and since last year a '15. utter reliability in both, which were new leases. i will tell you that the sales manager told me 'you don't want a VW that's out of warranty'....parts replacement costs are brutal.

I have a 2013 TDI. Best car I have ever owned but sadly VW is going to take it away from me. I owned a 2002 Passat gasser before this one. My only advise is to stay on top of maintenance. The 2002 had a sealed transmission...and guess what was the first thing to go. They no longer go this route and even if they did I now know better. There is no such thing as never needs maintenance.

We still have my wifes 2003 TDI bug, which is still going strong.

A good friend owns a VW repair shop and he said the diesels are the only ones he would recommend. But that was before the recall. I have no personal experience with them but was looking for a good car for my daughter.

Sealed transmissions are great for the dealer. You can easily get 100k before any problems but if you plan on keeping your car longer than that then you can guarantee it will fail.

Hey,
2003 GTI here. I like it ok (notice I didn't say love) I've had some problems with it but name a car that will run 165000 miles with no problems. Maybe keeping them new enough to have a warranty would be a way of going. Because maintenance is a tough pill to swallow.
I was considering a diesel as well. Or maybe a Subaru outback or a forester. I just can't bring myself to sign up for the car payments. Eric

Thanks for the info...keep it coming

currently drive a 2009 Corolla 100k+ kilometers.. tougher than a 50 cent steak. Gas, oil, tires is all it ever needs. Still drives almost like new but arthritis demands a vehicle that is easier to get in and out of. Looking for something smaller than a mid size sedan although a Camry is an option.