What do I replace the Infinity 6 Kappa "Polydome K" midrange???

MKP0

Hi, got my hands on a pair of 6 Kappas. I am new to the world of hifi and plan to use it with my Dual 1218.
I need to replace the midrange drivers because the silicone is cracking and falling off.

What do I look for and how do I know it's compatible?

Thanks.

Hi, got my hands on a pair of 6 Kappas. I am new to the world of hifi and plan to use it with my Dual 1218.
I need to replace the midrange drivers because the silicone is cracking and falling off.

What do I look for and how do I know it's compatible?

Thanks.

You can always send them to Miller Sound and get them redone. They would not be clear anymore, but a black. Though it probably has been a very long time since the original 6 Kappas Polydomes were semi clear anyways. There is some here who have had it done, and can comment on the sound quality of having Miller Sound redo them. Some of us are taking a crap shoot on trying to preserve the ones we have (no scientific studies have been done on preserving whatever material it is made out of), but I am sure one day, even those will meet their doom, and will need a new material.

x9iQDRj.jpg

Hey, MKP0, there's been tons of discussion here on this very subject. Search here for polydome. Unfortunately, we've yet to find a perfect replacement.

Should I spend on getting it replaced or sell as is because I will definitely make more than what I bought it for.

How about these ones?
I believe those have been suggested in the past, and have been found wanting. If you do the search I suggested earlier, you should one or more threads discussing it.

Last edited by a moderator:
I believe those have been suggested in the past, and have been found wanting. If you do the search I suggested earlier, you should one or more threads discussing it.
Yeah I found a lot of posts about the polydome replacements. I just don't know if it's worth spending 100/150aud on replacement when I got both speakers for 280.