What do you think of MM cart?

preston1000

I'm new to turntables and would like some feedback on what your thoughts are this song.....

Will a MC cart sound a lot better, by that I mean more detailed open stage?

Apologies about camera shake and not sure how it will sound since this was recorded with my phone.

I've never heard the MP-11 but the MP-110 is a budget favorite.

Having said that, I have no doubt that getting something like the entry level Denon DL-103 will allow quite a bit more detail.

You have some nice gear there... not sure The White Stripes are the band you need more detail being resolved to fully enjoy.

Jack would probably tell you to get a BSR. :p

I "got into" moving coils in the early 1990's and tried to make myself like them but could not. I attributed that to the type of music I played and felt it was better reproduced by a moving magnet or moving iron. Being in "the business" I was able to accumulate a fair number of cartridges since the dealer costs were negligible compared to retail prices. Of the more "expensive" cartridges I had, most were sold and only kept three different versions of Shure V15's. Funnily for the last two or so years I've been listening to a bunch on the lower end (at the time) of the price spectrum, even finally getting around to buying styli for bodies that remained untouched for 30+ years.

Because of all the accolades, it's understandable how one can become interested in moving coils but what's good for the goose might not be good for the gander. Opinions are no substitute for first hand experience.

Jack would probably tell you to get a BSR. :p

He has a BIC....doesn't he?

Will a MC cart sound a lot better, by that I mean more detailed open stage?

From what I've read, by that definition of better, the answer would likely be yes. Here is an excerpt from an interesting short article that actually extols the virtues of moving magnet cartridges, but notes this major difference.