What equipment do I need to Align FM tuners

Perkinsman

"I've never met a fixer that I couldn't break"
I'm a student of tube audio repair and would like to also learn how to properly align tube fm tuners but I don't have a clue how where to start. What special tools and equipment do i need? A signal generator or function generator? How many Hz does the generator need to go to?

FM mono, or FM stereo? Stereo needs extra stuff.

You need an oscilloscope to do it the preferred way, and a sweep generator to sweep the IF strip for proper response. Something like a Sencore SG-165 would do it for you if its in working order, and you have a scope to pair with it. Failing that, there is the old way using a fixed frequency signal generator and a voltmeter to set things up. That doesn't work so well, and really isn't recommended if you want reasonable stereo.

I just recently got a decent signal generator myself, so I haven't gotten any practice with doing it the non-crap way. I have used fixed frequency generators and a VTVM to do the job. It works, but not ideal by any stretch.

Also, higher end tube tuners need more advanced test equipment to do properly. Especially in Stereo. Mono tuners except for advanced stuff like the REL Precedent and the early McIntosh to MR 71, the Fisher, HH Scott, and similar will need much better than TV shop generators to do. If you do those, and similar, the Sound Technology is good to own.

which is sort of amusing if you consider the gear those were probably aligned with originally. Much of it was pretty awful though. I have a sweep generator from the late 1950s. Its useless unless I just need a heavy object to prop open a door or something though.

IMO the minimum requirement is a Sencore SG-165 and a quality oscilloscope. Always follow the equipment manufacture's alignment procedures.

Some of the Macs required a distortion analyzer, and the HP 330B being the suggested one.

The scope the MAC 1500 requires is laughable.