What figures are critical. Matching AC/AC 16v adaptor

thomo57

l'm trying to find a matching a wall step down transformer to a Thorens TD 147.
This particular turntable is missing its adaptor.
I have tried one off a Thorens TD318 that l have and it run beautifully so next step is to buy one.
I'm no electrician so I'm asking for some advice.

The one that l found closest to it on the bay is slightly different to the Thorens one l tried so my question is if the ebay one can be used.

The Thorens
Input 240 volt, 50hz
Output 16 volt / 160 mA, 2.6va

Ebay one
Input 230/240 50hz
Output 16volt 2.5 a,(24 volt 2500ma)

Input voltage/frequency must match

Output voltage must match

Output current should meet or exceed requirement IE: item requires 1a input 1a + is acceptable, .8a is not

Output current should meet or exceed requirement (...)

Actually that's not quite correct or respectively a bit simplified. Overdimensioning in terms of current capability can be problematic in case of conventional (= transformer-based) AC/AC and unregulated AC/DC power supplies - due to the nominal voltage referring to the nominal current capability, while the actual output voltage can be a good bit higher, if the current demand is lower than the nominal current capability. And it can also be problematic in case of switched-mode AC/DC power supplies, quite a few of which will behave rather oddly, if the powered device doesn't draw enough current.

Greetings from Munich!

Manfred / lini

Assuming the above is true - and I don't doubt it - your proposed unit has about 15x more current capability than required. If you already have this unit, you could try it out, and monitor voltage in use. If it's high, or noisy (or ? ), you could try one with lower output. Or figure a way to 'waste' some of the output.

It will run fine on a little less than 16 volts, and polarity doesn't matter, so a lot of older power supplies can be pressed into service. Try a thrift store.