What is your job/occupation/training?

Walt

Ok, I want to know my fellow AK'ers a bit better ... some of you I know pretty well from our days at AU, but there is a few new people around here I know little about.

But even for the regulars, tell us all what you do for a living, or what your current occupation is, or in the case of out-of-work, what your training background is ...

I'll start off ...

My training is Bachelor Degrees in Economics and History, but I have been in banking all my working life, specifically financial markets. I currently trade interest rate options for one of the larger banks' in Australia.

In the future I am hoping to be able to throttle back a bit and enjoy spending more time with my family and hobbies. So down the track would love to own my own small business (still looking for that idea tho') ...

And the rest of you?

Well you wouldn't know it by what I do, but my degree is in finance. I've spent over 20 years in electronics. Comes from growing up with a father who was an electronics instructor in the Air Force. Started out as an audio bench tech. Went through automotive engine and vehicle research, on to satellite tracking and combat DF and finally ended up in enterprise security and telecommunications convergence technology. So, from big ass carbon resistors and acid core solder to micro BGA and hot air solder reflow, I've been around the block. Speaking of which, where am I? I think I'm lost.

Well I was sticking wires into AC outlets from an early age :(

Air Force formalized my electronics training in Teletype/crypto maintenace. Then about 9 years of minicomputer field service engineeering and finally 22 years of process control electronics for a major oil company. Probably retire in 5-10 years but in no hurry as the existing 4 day 10 hour work shift feels like a part time job. ;) Have always enjoyed my work and felt amoung the lucky that really enjoys my job.