What Our Young Athletes Learn From Pro Sports

When have you ever seen a pro athlete attack an official? I'm sorry, but your thread title is astonishingly misguided.

As an amateur sports referee myself, I take things like this very seriously.

So you don't think that the current trend of pro athletes breaking rules and/or laws and getting away with little or no punishment has anything to do with those two's behavior?

And what's a being a ref have to do with it?

So you don't think that the current trend of pro athletes breaking rules and/or laws and getting away with little or no punishment has anything to do with those two's behavior?

I'm not sure I do. Encourage them to cheat, yeah. Encourage them to attack an official? I think that's a stretch.

Reprehensible behavior, no question. What is this world coming to?

bs

Encourage them to attack an official? I think that's a stretch.

So encouraging your players to "disable" opponents is OK? (can you say "New Orleans?")

The "point" isn't that they hit a ref - rather that they somehow seemed to think it was the appropriate thing to do. In this day and age of letting people who do crap like this off the hook, the fear of retaliation/punishment isn't what it should be.