What to expect?

jcamero

Who are you people anyway?
Thinking about hosting a get together. Prior to posting an invitation, (from the host side), what happens? What prep, (food/drinks, etc.). How long? If outside, who talks to the cops regarding loud music?

I'm not real good at the whole organizing thing, but all I can say is that for any sort of sizable gathering I wouldn't be overly worried about loud music. I expect you'll find that people will spend more time talking than jamming.

I might also suggest asking that people bring a dish or supplies or something so you don't have to prepare it all. Do an RSVP sort of thing with how many people are coming and what each person is bringing. Ask people to bring different things, nobody needs 8 bowls of potato salad with no forks.

I produce sports venues for a living, and that's similar to what you are planning and asking about.

You may need a "Permit" for the venue, but we are getting way ahead of ourselves.

Will this be an AK get together? How big are we talking here? 10 people? 100? 1,000? For 10 or 20 people getting together outside, it's usually not an issue. Right to congregate, etc. It's not a "Venue" at that point. Even with Music playing it's usually not an issue. It's just an outdoor party, unless you are disturbing the peace. Best bet, host at a State Park if you have concerns. You, as a taxpayer, own that park. A permit for the event at a State Park is inexpensive. VERY inexpensive. You already pay to support the Park in your Taxes, so you might want to call the park director and reserve a pavilion. City parks can also work, but noise is sometimes more of a problem. State Parks are easy. They are remote, and during the day music (at reasonable levels) is not an issue at all, even if you are hiring a Rock band. I've done it. No issues.