Where to spend $100 on a new tt mat - Funk Achromat vs. Herbie's Way Excellent II

Andy_H

Behind the Wall of Sleep
One of the next upgrades I'd like to add to my Technics SL-1200 MkI is an aftermarket platter mat. I was looking around and figuring if I could spend up to ~$100, the Funk Firm Achromat ($90) or the Herbie's Way Excellent II ($72.50) would be the top contenders. However, I've no firsthand experience with either.

Any of you have either of these mats to recommend or compare? Any other ideas in the sub-$100 price range are welcome as well.

You might check with KAB USA. My SL-1200 (purchased from KAB) came with a thick, high quality mat, replacing the thin stock mat. Gotta believe it's a lot cheaper than $100.

I have no experience with the other two you're considering.

The choice of a TT mat can be strongly influenced by the TT it is used on. There have been comparisons where on type works well on TT-A but not on TT-B which sounded better with a different material.

Maybe someone here has experience with the 1200 and different mat materials. Just getting one if it is not the right material for that TT may make the sound worse than using the stock mat. For the ubiquitous 1200 there have to be some that have tried different mats.

KAB does have what's billed as the "Super 1/4 Mat" for only $23.50. I wonder how it would compare to what I already have. The stock mat on the 1200 MkI is a heavy rubber mat, not a DJ style slip mat.

Red, any idea what kinda $ those Applied Fidelity mats go for?

I want to get something good, but right now I'd rather spend bigger $ in other areas than a $100+ platter mat.

Andy, you'd best shoot Jim an email to confirm, but I think his mats are about $150.

I've tried both the Herbie's and the Funk Firm Achromat.
Definitely prefer the Funk Firm mat.