Who Actually "Measures" For Speaker Placement? aka, Are You As OCD As I Am?

savatage1973

Addicted Member
Silly question, I know, but just thinking about it for some unknown reason.

Do you actually measure and match the placement of your speakers, or do you just "eyeball" them up and/or tweak the alignment to create your own (possibly off-axis) "sweet spot"?

Why do I ask?--because I do. I am a contractor, so I have all the tools on-hand, and I am just that OCD that they have to be symmetrically placed in the room in all three planes. In my main dedicated listening space, I have three pair of speakers that get rotated in and out, and there is tape on the floor to insure proper placement of each pair when put into service.

Who else is guilty?

If I swapped speakers often I would probably mark the floor as you do. Since I generally keep the systems in place for several years at a time I get everything symmetrical by eye, then tweek the toe-in as needed. I do have one pair of speakers that I move away from the wall for better listening (Mirage OM-10) but I know where they go in relation to the furniture next to them.

I go so far s to make a placement template out of old cardboard boxes. Measure from the wall to the back of your speaker and mark the offset from 90 degrees. Flip it over to match the distance from the wall and offset on the other speaker. You can get 4 -8 pieces of cardboard from a middle sized UHaul box.

I have measured the room acoustics and placed speakers in the perfect spot, used a velcro strip for a marker. Visual symmetry is important to me but because one side is a corner fireplace and the other has the equipment stand, offsets happen for optimum acoustics.

The problem in my setup is that I have several dipole-type speakers that sound best far from the back wall, and a wife who prefers that speakers reside near the wall when I'm not listening to them. The wife is more valueable to me than the speaker placement so this works.