Who / What is blocking my favourite station?

minio

Here in the U.K. I’ve been listening to my favourite jazz radio station for many years. Jazz FM (UK) started as an actual fm station in London around 25 years ago but more recently I’ve found it on my internet streamer and have listened happily for several years now.

Except that just before Christmas it has stopped streaming for no apparent reason. The station and the artists playing come up in the window but the sound is just a few milliseconds of squelch followed by zilch - nothing!

The station still exists (on DAB+ and on my phone radio player by WiFi) but not on my streamer.
The streamer works ok on thousands of other channels so why not my particular favourite channel?

I’ve rebooted the streamer and the router and re logged on the station several times but still no luck. It’s a mystery to me.

Any ideas out there?

Sounds like the stream url linked to your "streamer" is no longer valid. Contact the maker/provider of your device and ask them to update their link to JazzFM UK

What/Which streamer are you using exactly?

I had a similar problem a year or two ago with the stream from Antenne Bayern in Munich. The links the station gave on their website were valid but did not work for me on any streaming software, with any computer in my home. Emails to Antenne Bayern went unanswered. Other U.S. listeners were affected as well but blamed their streaming apps on their mobile phones.

After about 8 months without Antenne Bayern, I found out by accident that they did not have copyright clearance to play their stream in the U.S. After station owner Bertelsmann AG came to an agreement with ASCAP, BMI, etc. streaming resumed and has continued since.

Minio, if you find that your links are valid, perhaps your station has restricted their streaming to non-UK locations, requiring you to rely on DAB reception. I've read about that a while back, too, as a possibility.