Why doesn't my Denon receiver sound as good my old Scott

docloc

Hello everyone. How about short story? I bought a new stereo system in 1978, a Scott 376 receiver, s197 speakers, Scott 76 turntable. I didn't use the system a lot, and for about the last 10 years it sat boxed up. I got the itch to set the system up, but was disappointed that the woofers foam had dried and split. I sent away for a kit to reform them ( actually got cloth surrounds), wasn't too tough a job. I cleaned the pots and switches with deoxit, sounded just like the old days. But I am getting old and much more lazy, I thought that a remote control receiver would be nice. I found a good deal on a Denton AVR 3806 and thought that the power specs sounded good. I hooked up my speakers and man what a disappointment. I studied the manual, looked at forums, and found that I could adjust bass and treble separately, still poor sound. It's as if the bass has been cut out. I have only the mains (Scotts) and an old set of Entec 8" with 68ohm capacitors inline to reduce bass to them. So only four speakers connected. I shouldn't have to use a sub box to get bass, the Scotts have 15" woofers. I went back to the 376 receiver and sweet sound comes out of the s197 speakers again. I went through the setup procedure on the 3806 with the microphone connected, selected which channels had speakers connected, hooked up a monitor to go through setup steps, still no full frequency sound. I mainly listen to classic rock, but usually have a tablet hooked up to listen to internet radio, and listen to country, rock, electronic music. Is it me, or the receiver? Thanks for listening.

It's either of the receivers.
The Denon is probably more faithful to the input signal, but the Scott gives a more satisfying sound.
The Denon can be made to sound like the Scott if you wish, but if the Scott already gives the sound you like. so...