Why Kenwood?

davidguilbault

Perusing the Bargain Bins
Hi folks.

I'm new to analog audio and to this message board. I am just now hooking up all the gear that's been sitting around for a couple of years.

I have four Kenwood models. My main system right now is being run by a Kenwood KR-4200 and all is well.

I have three other models that need some help. The protection circuit kicks in on my KA-4004. The left channel is out on my KA-7002. And my KR-3090 has intermittent sound and looks like it needs a good cleaning.

I'm drawn to the style of Marantz, but bought all these Kenwoods. So I must be drawn to their style, too.

So, my question is - why Kenwood? Give me some reasons why I should stay in the Kenwood family and not wander off to Marantz land.

By the way, I also have a Yamaha CR-800 receiver running a Marantz 6100 turntable.

Thanks for the help and advice. Nice to join you forum.

Cheers for now.
David.

(Photos below are stock)

Attachments

• KA-7002.jpg
    KA-7002.jpg
    63.3 KB · Views: 140
  • KA-4004.JPG
    KA-4004.JPG
    32 KB · Views: 114
  • KR-4200.jpg
    KR-4200.jpg
    11.9 KB · Views: 106
  • KR-3090.JPG
    KR-3090.JPG
    80.7 KB · Views: 98
I find Kenwood stuff is under rated compared to Marantz. If you are out and find one, a Kenwood, on average, will be cheaper than a Marantz. I don't know about the first three units, but I have a KR-3090 that I got through freecycle, and it works great with a pair of PSB Stratus Silvers in my living room system, as long as the volume doesn't get too high. I tried out my Marantz 2226 that I use as a phono pre and tuner(in a different system) in the Kenwood's place, and the Kenwood sounded better when the volume got turned up. Mind you, both units have never been serviced/re-capped etc, so that could be part of it. I do like the look of the 2226 better than the KR-3090.

I find Kenwood stuff is under rated compared to Marantz.