Yamaha 90's stuff, worth It?

Turnip

So im pretty new to hifi and I've been offered a 90's Yamaha Radio (TX-480L), CD player (CDX-480) amp (AX-380) and a Technics Sl-B210 Turntable. Most of which I can't find a lot about other than they were sort of entry level in the early 90's. He wants £90 for it all currently but I reckon can haggle a bit down.

I'm in need of a half decent sounding system for as cheap as possible which plays CDs and vinyl records, so this sounds like a good starting point which I can build on since I currently have nothing (all-in-one system recently broke down).

Would you reckomend this?

I haven't heard any Yamaha stuff that I didn't like. It's typically very neutral sounding.
I'd recommend them for sure.

Thanks guys, reckon I'll go check it out. Still getting used to what brands had good reputations and when.

Yamaha builds great gear. the AX-380 @ 55wpc is a good amp. Its not junk if that is what you are asking.

Kind Regards,
John

That looks like a fine system to me if it is in good working order. You might want to check the TT cartridge stylus and belt if it has one for wear. IMO it is far more than a starter system. Mated to a decent pair of speakers it could easily be a keeper. You could of course make substitutions later, But unless you plan on spending some serous coin, You will most likely just be moving sideways. I do like remote control, I don't know if the Yamaha system has that. But both my cable box and smartphone have remote volume. The DAC offered on some new amps is convenient since my Blue ray disc player and TV only have digital out. That can easily be corrected with the cheap, tiny ($50) external DAC I purchased for use with my vintage Realistic receiver that does a perfectly acceptable job for that.

Last edited:
Yamaha gear is for the most part what I settled on after all these years.I too have never met a Yamaha I didn't like.