Yamaha C4 repair advice needed re: MM phono section

texanater

Hey All,

I just got a yamaha C4 and absolutely love it. The MM phono section isn't functioning. There's no bottom end, the volume is very low and its sounds muffled. There are three phono inputs (2 MM and 1 MC) and I think its the selector switch that selects which phono input, not the switch that chooses between aux, tape, tuner and phono. I've hit it pretty hard with radio shack contact cleaner and that brought back the right channel but the left channel is still all but dead.

Is there any benefit in getting the name brand deoxit rather than just the radio shack contact cleaner?

Further, is there anyone in the Los Angeles region that is highly recommended for this kind of repair?

Also, are there any recommendations for parts replacement such as bulbs and on/off switches?

Lastly, I also have a yamaha M4. I'm a bit new to the vintage gear hobby, I understand that the caps usually go bad after a couple decades. When do you know you need to replace them. It sounds fine now so should I follow "if it aint broke" or should the amp be serviced for good measure?

Lastly lastly, my dad came out for Christmas and liked the C4/M4 combo so much he bought a pair for himself. Anythoughts about a Houston area tech who could service his as needed?

Thanks so much for your thoughts!!!

Nate

Deox-it is by far 200% better product than the radioshak brand contact cleaner.The phono will be at a lower output than a tape deck or CD player we are talking microvolts versus volts. The C-4/M-4 combo is excellent . Most of your C-4 issues can be cleaned up with a proper treatment of Deox-it.. As for caps in the M-4 as well as C-4 there are no doubt some that are probably in need of replacement ..that gear is going on 30 years old.

aim high