Yamaha CA-1000

RustinFord

OK so, I recently acquired a Yamaha CA-1000. I'm brand new to working on electronics and I am wondering how I would go about fixing it.

I replaced all the fuses and then when I powered it on. The red circled fuse blew. To me it does not look like an important fuse because it connects directly to the AC Outlets on the back. You can see what I'm talking about in the photo. The receiver does make 1 click noise when I attempt to power it on.

CA1000
http://www.toocuteforpublic.com/CA-1000-Inside.jpg
Main Circuit Board 1
http://www.toocuteforpublic.com/Main-Circuit-Board1.jpg
Main Circuit Board 2
http://www.toocuteforpublic.com/Main-Circuit-Board2.jpg

I'm not sure about how to go about trouble shooting this device. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

It is a very important fuse, like a main fuse..Its in series with the panel fuse on the rear panel.It should be a 5A pigtail.

Remove the bottom cover and inspect the power supply board--more fuses..

Suspect either bad capacitors ,diodes in the power supply or it could be something in one of the amplifier assemblies.

The fact that your blowing the pigtail tells me the rear panel fuse is possibly the wrong size fuse.It should be a 5A as well.

Attachments

• img2137.jpg
    img2137.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 58
Last edited:
Do you know how to read a schematic ? Do you have a multimeter ? At this point its not necessary to install and blow anymore fuses nor apply any power.Need to locate the shorted circuit.

Does the click happen after a short time like 3 secs - 5 secs after power on?
If yes I think this is supposed to happen - its the relay. ( I have this click on the CA600 after 5 secs)