Yamaha CR-640 Blowing the main fuse instantly

redpackman

I got a Yamaha CR-640 a few weeks ago. Went through it and redid all the lights with the properly rated bulbs, by the way. Got it all spiffed up. It was playing well. Sweet sound. Balanced the DC offset too and got it to just around zero on both channels using the service manual as a guide.

Playing it the other night. Then suddenly, poof, it died after having played awhile. I took off the cover and the main fuse inside the unit (F801 on the HifiEngine service manual download) was blown. OK. Put in another. No delay now. It blew instantly. Dead short? Checked out the transformer by disconnecting its leads to the board(s). Gave it power. No fuse blowing, so the transformer, presumably is OK.

Now what? Power diodes? I'm a newbie and any input would be appreciated.

Update: Took out the two large caps and tested them. They are not shorted and seem to be in the right range. I tested the rectifier diodes and they too checked out OK (removed from the circuit). I put the unit on a dim bulb tester which allowed it to operate without immediately blowing the fuse, BUT the bulb sure lit up the room the whole time. With the unit powered up, I checked the voltages on the two Darlington Yamama IG 02980 "Power Amplifier" modules. When comparing the two IG 02980's with each other, some of the pins registered similar readings, but some were quite divergent, particularly in the center of the units. One of them probably blown? Is that a legit assumption, but which one?

Grrrr.

Last edited:
Be patient... been a busy couple of weeks for most of us. retrace your steps as an initial suggestion. full lit dbt means a short. I'd discharge the mains caps and do a continuity test in the traces of the power supply.
bink