Yamaha NS woofer shifted magnet video

That was cool! If only it were in English it would help fill in the blanks. I wish he had shown the actual alignment of the magnet using the jig...neat video nonetheless.

I came across this while perusing the tube of you. Although it's not English, it's a very good documented process.

Hopefully it helps someone.

I know this thread is old but I am looking for some opinions. After watching this video and reading other posts I decided to tackle my shifted magnet on a newly acquired pair of NS-690's. I've never worked on drivers before but figured what the hell it's broken as it is. After a bit of nervously getting it apart and building a jig and then putting it back together I was successful in getting it working and I'm impressed. They've replaced my stacked A25's and even my wife commented on the sound. My question is that since this process is so involved, for me, would you recommend I expoxy the sister speaker magnets in place as it is or wait for it to shift before messing with it? Thanks

A couple of tips I can offer to anyone tackling this job.
1) Make the diameter of the hole in the jig as close as possible to the diameter of the magnet. Mine was a bit sloppy and made it a bit awkward for pushing the pole piece around to center it.
2) I found that the diameter of the hole in the pole piece was adequate to tap as is with a 1/4-20 tap. Very slowly with removing it often to get filings out. Once it done it gave me a means to fasten the pole to a large piece of plywood and that gave me control when mating it to the magnet and basket.

would you recommend I expoxy the sister speaker magnets in place as it is or wait for it to shift before messing with it? Thanks

yes, it’s easy to do and cheap insurance. I’ve done it with a bunch of Polk drivers that are also known to shift their magnets. Jb weld work very well. Use masking tape to make it look neat.
AB474430-7170-42D8-B4CC-41837873B709.jpeg