YIKES! I just realized my CD Player was made in 1990 !

SixCats!

Hi all,

Wow! Just wow! I can't believe the HK (Harman Kardon) HD 7300 Single Player CD Player I've been using for some fifteen years or so (that I purchased USED from a "Yard Sale" for ten dollars) is still up and running! The other night however, I did hear a bit of noise from the drive system. I'm playing this unit as I type this listening to Sonny Rollins Saxophone Colossus and to my old'ish Ears, still sounds pretty good!
Of course I can't help but wonder what/how much music I'm missing using a nearly thirty year old
Player. I've spent damn near the entire day on the Computer researching NEW/BUDGET CD Players.
As much as I like to buy the likes of a Cyrus DCi (or like) I don't think I can justified spending that kind of
money for a CD Player. Of course I've looked at all the usual suspect Budget Players and it would be a difficult choice to choose one over the other. I've mostly have looked at/researched the likes of NAD, Marantz,Yamaha and Onkyo. Suddenly, as I was typing this thread (like a bolt of Lightning) it hit me! I completely forgot that several years ago, I had purchase a new SONY NS 500V Multi format player and for whatever reason (I think I grew impatient with it's slow start up) and put aside the unit as part of a seldom used Basement System. Sooooo, I just now retrieved the SONY and hooked it up to my modest system (NAD C326BEE and POLK 10 Monitors) and started playing the same Sonny Rollins CD......HUGH difference! A lot brighter/sharper/alive/crisp sounding! Good Bass as well. Well, I wonder if I should still purchase another BUDGET CD Player (per the above list) ? Then again, I may be fine with this SONY unit for the time being. Ummmm, I can't but help wonder if any of the above listed BUDGET CD Players would be an improvement over this SONY NS 500V ? I'd love to hear you thoughts ? I mean, this unit is only eighteen years old lol.