your opinions on recievers vs components

My question is what are the pros of having a amp with a seprate tuner? I am pretty new to stacked stereo and have just got a AU-517 Sansui amp but need a tuner still.
A reciever has it all built in and has plenty of inputs for reel to reels etc same as a amp.
Do the seperates have better specs then the recievers?

Since a receiver has the power amp, pre amp and tuner all in one box; the conventional wisdom is that one or more of these components is probably not up to snuff. By picking and choosing separate components, you can select the best of each.

Or, in the case of a tuner, you COULD just exclude it. I personally like to listen to the radio, but lots of people just don't anymore.

On the other hand, I have been a receiver guy all along (though I have an integrated amp en route). I like the convenience and lower cost.

Just my $0.02, YMMV.

Pretty much what he said. Components give you more flexibility, receivers give you more convenience. There are some really stellar receivers, and some really crappy components so you have to be careful about making too many generalizations.

Personally I like receivers. They tend to go for less money, and they fit my needs. My Onkyo I got with the speakers for 75 bucks. It sounds good to me, and the tuner works very well on both AM and FM. Its actually quite possibly the best AM tuner I own.

receivers vs. seperates