Phillips Direct Drive Turntable Help

TheCrunge

I know this is a shot in the dark but I have an older Phillips 777 direct drive table that is in need of some help. It was in great shape prior to last Thursday, at which point after Side A of the Cars Greatest Hits, the play and stop buttons won't work. To make this worse, even though when spinning, no noise will come from the unit.

This really annoys me because it had been working great and my dad has owned it since new. Just wondering if anyone knew anything I should be looking at. I am a mechanical engineer so I am more than marginally mechanical, but upon taking this sucker apart, there are so many spring related mechanisms I can't figure out what isn't working (every spring is tight and seems to be where it should be). If anyone has had one of these with a similar problem or if anyone can just give me some advice, I would appreciate it.

"Direct Control" not Direct Drive. Philips' little marketing twist -- they were diehard belt drive mfgrs (as were most European tt makers), but the market tide had turned against 'em by the late 1970s.

It will need a new belt.

I don't know about the mechanical linkage in that tt, but that's probably where the trouble lies.

There's probably a mute switch tied to the cue lever that is responsible for the "no noise" (if by this you mean "no sound"?).

attachment.php

Unfortunately Vinyl Engine doesn't appear to have the service manual for the AF-777 online, but I'll give you their link anyway:
http://www.vinylengine.com/library/philips.shtml

I did mean no sound by that. I can hear the signal from the stylus, but it is not making its way to the preamp. I guess I will have to play with a bit more tomorrow.

I really want to get this working again, because it sounds great and plus I have had no luck finding any decent turntables in Northern NJ for reasonable prices (SA, CL, and Ebay so far).