881 - Left Phono Channel No Bass

BrianPH

So I just re-capped Equalizer, Tone, Driver and Power boards in my 881 and thought all was well until I just realized that when listening to records, the left channel is devoid of bass frequency content. I've ran both turntable outputs into the 881's R phono input and they both sound normal there, so it's definitely isolated to the L phono input. The FM and AUX inputs seem to be fine on both channels. So would troubleshooting need to begin with back of the L phono RCA jack? Anything specific come to mind that I should take a look at, on any particular boards? I think that I can follow the 881 schematic to trace the signal from the input but I'm no pro at doing so.

Thanks so much for you input!

Check your work thoroughly, and when you are sure it's all fine..... check it again.

'Equaliser' normally means 'Phono amp' - start there.

Does anybody happen to have a photo of the solder-side of their EQ F-2433 circuit board??? Looking at the back of mine and I'm seeing some things that look odd.

On the solder side of the EQ 2433 board there are two 220pF CEramic caps (C15, C16). One on the left channel the other on the right. However, on my board they are installed in two completely different locations on each side with respect to the other. Anybody know for sure where they go? I don't see them on schematic or the parts location diagrams but they are in the 2433 parts list.

Brian… Check for flipped caps (Lytics) cold solder connections…
If the LF is NOT making it through but HF is I'll wager something is wrong in the RIAA EQ section…..Where do you think the frequency cut off is? Above that "F" is the level down as well? Or is the balance ok.. just no BEEF in the left ?? Extra caps on the backside of sansui stuff , which is NOT on the print is VERY VERY normal.

Additional:
1) Verify you have +32 on pin 15 of the board AND it you get power to pin 1 of IC 01 THRU R 601 ( fuse resistor ) and R-07.