How to pull apart an SR-929

river25

This unit spins mega fast. Does it whether quartz locked or not, and manual adjustments (both top and underneath) make no difference.

So, figured I'd pull it apart and have a look about. But I've never done one of these before and the service manual doesn't show me.

From the top I removed the three inner circle bolts and the motor fell down a bit. Also removed the 2 countersink screws on the out inside-edge of the top bit. It wouldn't budge and I didn't want to try too hard. So, I put the above bolts back in place and looks okay.

So, tried from underneath and removed three large long brass bolts, the four feet and the tone arm cover plate. The base didn't seem to want to move. Tried it a bit but didn't want to force it.

So, what's the go with pulling this thing apart?

I think the large tone arm nut on the bottom has to come off before the base comes off If I remember correctly. Does the platter spin fast or just the light? Fever

Last night just before I went to bed I had another look at it and realised the brass bolts hold the top in place. I then loosened the counter sunk (2) screws at the top and I got it apart.

I haven't taken off the tone arm as it looks pretty fiddly with some very fine wires. So, the unit is on it's side and I got the centre out and laying face down on some cloth, and I'm having a good look around.

First thing is a broken wire. I don't think this was me as I did a proper check about when lifting out the centre to make sure no wires were being stretched. Anyway, I think I know where it goes. I'm going to meter it out to be sure. Looks like an earth wire that goes to the Control Board, into a PCB hole (ID 10 in the service manual diagram of the Control Circuit Board layout - conductor side). Tracing this wire it goes to the earth plate of the tone arm. I don't think this would be causing my speed issues, but it certainly may affect the sound, so I'll solder it up.