Any Tuba players out there?

1ADSarge

Der Bürgermeister
Subscriber
Anyone on the forum an avid Tuba player? I played for 9 years. Just started college after leaving the service and am getting back into the music program. By the way, anyone know where I could get a great deal on a Tuba? Any info is appreciated!!!

! played in my high school band for four years, Marching band, symphonic, stage band and wind ensemble. If I could have afforded to buy one after I graduated (1979), I'd probably still be playing!

attachment.php

Attachments

• sousaphone.jpg
    sousaphone.jpg
    50.4 KB · Views: 95
That's exactly how I feel! I'm in the masters degree program at the local state college so I have a good 4.5 years left to use the colleges before I have to have my own. You can pick up a decently used one on eBay for between $1k - $1.5k. I'm hoping to have one of the King four valve forward bell tubas by next year. You should look into it. Its been maybe 14 years since I last played and I've been practicing the last month or so and most of what I learned has come back. I think the hardest part in getting your lips conditioned to play good solid tones. The joy of playing again is well worth it!

I'm not a tubist, but I sit next to the tuba section when I play my euphonium in a community band. One of the tuba players has a new Schiller horn -- made in China, 4 rotary valves, bell-up. It seems to be well made and he gets a really nice sound out of it. He says it blows well, too. The other guys in the section play vintage American horns by Conn and King.

My son plays tuba in the high school concert band and Sousaphone in marching band. We bought him a 3/4 size Amati Bb several years ago through Woodwind & Brasswind. He out grew it so we donated it to his middle school (it appraised for more than what we paid) and got him a full size Cerveny Bb w/ 4 rotary valves.

Last edited: