Class A versus A/B

opusarlo

OK, I have scoured the web tonight while working in the hopes of learning why people pay massive dollars for those huge class A amplifiers. The irony is, the more i read about them, the worse they are for everything. power hungry, inefficient, hot...so then, why would I want to spend the long dollar on a class A or class A - A/B? Why not just get the more efficient class A/B?

Not a troll post..I am on the cusp of purchasing an amp and want to learn why the Adcom 5802 commands around 1000-1500 while a Yamaha MX-630 "Class A" can't even crack $1k.

Please be gentle. I am still learning here. My goal is to have a system capable of handling a pair of Maggies...i hear I need between 300 and 500 WPC

I have worked on many class A / AB amps and usually I can't hear the difference between the 2 modes. The one time I heard a difference I thought it sounded more harsh in class A, and the amp was working properly. A class AB amp, when properly biased, has negligible crossover distortion. You can't see it on a scope. I am not going to say it isn't there, but you can't see it, and I contend it is inaudible.

Most Magnepan speakers need quality high current amplification over quantity amplification.

I think Levinson really was the first to step up with a class A amp back in the late 70s and their impact in the marketplace seemed to be the seminal movement into the huge marketing hype leading to many Class A marketing schemes.

As the doc stated, a class AB amp properly functioning has so little notch distortion it is not audible.

Almost all amps have some parts of their circuits run class A, but there are many other, much more important factors, to consider in finding the right amp to run any particular set of speakers not the least of which is getting the speakers to work with your room not have them work against each other.