Search results

1. birchoak

unidentifiable old Sansui receiver

OMG buy that! Now. Dude, you can't get a good cup of coffee for $5 these days. That may be a tube model--I'm not a Sansui expert.
  2. birchoak

Do amplifier specifications really matter for sound quality?

Specs matter but only to a certain point--some lab queens look fantastic on paper but sound lifeless in reality. I think the topology of an amp's components is most important to sound.
  3. birchoak

Speakers VS Headphones......Ugh!

Headphones are as close to a perfect listening environment as you can get---no room variables screwing up the sound waves, drivers one inch from your ears, no reflections. If you get a small pair of good speakers and put them on your desktop, linked to a subwoofer, you can get pretty close.
  4. birchoak

Whoa, where's the data behind this statement!

Great thread---I'm sure there are great sounding new amps, just like there are great new cars, BUT: No one is going to make a truck again like the '73 Ford F350. It had a 351 Windsor that always started and ran strong, and it's iconic hood and see-through lettering on the grill made it one of...
  5. birchoak

is the "broken-ness" of vintage gear accelerating?

Agree 100%. Far too many variables at play with vintage electronics, vs. furniture.
  6. birchoak

Loudness varies from cd to vinyl, normal ?

Normal. Phono as a source is nowhere near as "hot" as the modern CD player signal.
  7. birchoak

Parting out a table - the guilt

Man, a clean, unscratched dust cover is like gold! Surely someone on that auction site (or in Barter Town here at AK) will want the rest of the parts. Don't feel too bad for the Sony---it had it's day in the sun, spinning records--and you've salvaged some crucial organs.
  8. birchoak

is the "broken-ness" of vintage gear accelerating?