Dedicated power line

manu et deo

I'm loving it!
Subscriber
Hi all, I'm going to be running some dedicated 20 amp lines in my listening room and was wondering if there's anything special I should know about.

I'm no electrician but when I added a 20amp dedicated circuit for my HT gear in my family room I was advised to keep any lights with dimmers off the dedicated circuit. We also ran the dedicated circuit from a separate sub-panel but I'm not sure that made any difference. I also recall that having your HT or stereo gear on the same circuit as appliances that cycle such as refrigerators or freezers was to be avoided. Take care to make sure your gear is all on the same ground to avoid ground loops/hum. This is most often seen in HT setups where a ground loop is caused by cable TV as they use a different ground than your house. Hope this helps.

I am getting heavy duty Hubbell receptacles, but am unsure of using two 10-2 lines or one 10-3?

I dislike plumbing work but will attempt it if there isn't another option, however, not electrical. There a lot of questions (Do you need 10 gauge wire for a 20 amp circuit? Is there room in the boxes to fold up the 10 gauge wire? 10/2 or 10/3? Will the receptacles accept 10 gauge wire? etc.) that are probably best answered by a licensed electrician. That way whatever is installed is safe and meets local codes and the NEC. Just my 2 cents.

I guess my questions are more directed to the audiophile part of this project. I have the technical parts under control.