Difference between AT3600 and AT3600L

Jicafold

Hello, Long time listener, first time caller. I'm new to vinyl and I have a newly purchased Technics SL-Q2 I got at the flea market that needs a cartridge. I've read and browsed for a budget cartridge and wonder what is the difference between the AT3600 and AT3600L. The only information I see is that the L requires a heavier tracking weight. But why would you want to buy one over the other? Or perhaps I should skip those and try the AT95E. I've done some searching on this site and cannot find my answer.

My other recently purchased turntable is a Yamaha TT-400U with an AT92E, but that's a P mount. Sounds fine to me. I imagine the Technics is a better turntable.

Hello, Long time listener, first time caller. I'm new to vinyl and I have a newly purchased Technics SL-Q2 I got at the flea market that needs a cartridge. I've read and browsed for a budget cartridge and wonder what is the difference between the AT3600 and AT3600L. The only information I see is that the L requires a heavier tracking weight. But why would you want to buy one over the other? Or perhaps I should skip those and try the AT95E. I've done some searching on this site and cannot find my answer.

My other recently purchased turntable is a Yamaha TT-400U with an AT92E, but that's a P mount. Sounds fine to me. I imagine the Technics is a better turntable.

Welcome to the AK turn table forum.

According to your information the Audio Technica AT 3600L requires a higher tracing force.

That would be more suitable for a heavier tone arm, correct? :idea:

Yes, I would assume so. But why would you want a heavier tracking force? And doesn't heavier tracking lead to accelerated record wear?

Yes, I would assume so. But why would you want a heavier tracking force? And doesn't heavier tracking lead to accelerated record wear?