Difference between Pickering D625 and D1200 styli?

Sonic_Clown

After accidentally bending (and breaking while trying to bend back) the D625 stylus on my Pickering XV-15, I browsed through old threads here for a suitable replacement. After reading warnings against knock-off styli for this specific cartridge, I went ahead and scooped up another XV-15 with a Pickering D1200 stylus (both NOS) for about as much as a decent LPGear replacement would've cost me.

I'm just wondering, how will this (NOS) D1200 stylus compare against the sound of my old D625? I can't find any direct comparison between the two. I'm very new to this hobby, so the simplest explanation and spec comparison would teach me wonders.

Also, to save myself some trouble, would I be better off taking the new brush and d1200 and placing it on my current XV-15 cartridge or replacing the cartridge altogether?

I'd appreciate any guidance anyone is willing to give. Thanks.

If your old cartridge works fine, there's little or nothing to gain by replacing it, as the "new" cart would be just as old anyway :) If the new cart is of different color, then it might be worth a shot - someone might know more about this, but I've noticed Pickering XV-15 came in different colors over the years, the higher models usually being golden.

If I recall correctly, the 625e stylus has a .3x.7 elliptical bonded diamond, while the 1200e has .2x.7 elliptical - whether nude or bonded I don't remember but I'm guessing bonded. In other words the 1200e stylus is smaller and thus can dig a bit more information out of the grooves, the price being perhaps a little hightened sensitivity to surface noise and higher record wear - in theory at least, personally I don't believe it makes any difference at all at the tracking forces we're talking about.

Thank you! That makes a lot of sense.

But yeah, both carts are gold. The only difference is the label reading 1200E rather than 625E, and the 1200E is glossier.