Finalizing the system with power cables

stoutblock

"If it sounds good, it is good." Duke Ellington
Subscriber
I’ve been building my main system now for several years and finally got it to the point I think I am at my end game. One of my pet peeves is having well routed cables with no excess clutter. It is just one of those things that bug me. I had Mike at Avanti audio make all my custom length speaker cables and interconnects and they work and look exceptionally nice. I’ve had the system mostly stable now for several months so decided it was time for the power cables to be optimized. I saved the power cables for last mostly because I wanted to make sure all of my equipment was finalized and locked in for location plus I have never been a strong believer that they have a significant affect on system performance. I have a dedicated 20 amp line and good plug ins for the system so that end was covered.

I decided to make the cables myself, and even though I don’t think they are sonically that critical, I decided to splurge and bought 30’ of 14g Ag wire. I used very modest Marinco 5-15 and C13 plugs that I have used before and like how they connect and function. My system took 12 custom cords (yeah I have a lot of equipment!) with everything going through a Richard Gray power purifier. Every chord is the right length, nothing more, nothing less and gave me great satisfaction for tidiness and reducing clutter etc.