Greetings from Indianapolis!

LittleBill

I've been gleaning wisdom from this site for about a year, so I thought I'd introduce myself. I am a 50+ year old software engineer by profession and a music-lover and musician on the side. About a year ago I decided to unpack my mid-1980s BPC stereo components to see what still worked. It spent 20+ years in a damp basement :-(. All I could salvage was a Technics cassette deck. While shopping for replacement components, I realized that I was too cheap to buy new equipment that would sound good enough for my ears. But I started noticing used stuff that I never could have afforded before, but was closer to my price range now. Did I mention that I also enjoy fixing things? I found that I could buy used equipment that needed some work for even LESS money and have the privilege of restoring it! That's what led me to AK, and it has been a wonderful resource.

Specific interests (brands, technology, etc.): I haven't had the chance to sample all the brands I'd like to, so I'm not focused on any in particular. Also, I will buy something if the price is right and it looks cool sometimes.

Here's what I have (so far!):

Current Setup:
- Yamaha CR-840 Receiver
- BSR 810 Transcription Turntable
- Dahlquist DQM-9 Speaker pair
- Onkyo DX-C390 CD Player
- Technics RS-915 Cassette Player

In the restoration queue:
- Dahlquist DQ-10 Speaker pair - These need a lot of work, including refoamed woofers and new crossover caps. Looking forward to getting them working!
- JansZen Z-400 Speaker pair - Sound great. Electrostatic components still work well, but I want to replace some crossover components.
- Onkyo TX-4500 MkII - Replaced lights. Works but may be a candidate for a recap project.
- Yamaha CR-620 Receiver - Needs new bulbs and maybe a recap.
- Akai AA-1150 Receiver - Needs new bulbs and maybe a recap. Also cause speaker "Pop!" at power down. Grrrr.
- JVC Nivico Model 5201 Turntable - Replaced idler wheel. Needs new motor mounts.