Jvc ax-9 distorded sound

Discussion in 'Solid State' started by Snuck, Mar 11, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Snuck

Snuck Member

Hello,

I bought a jvc ax-9 for 100 euros. I haven't received it yet but I know it have distorded sound. The power on works, just no leds and sound output is apparently distorded.

What should I check? Would it be costly repair?

Best regards

Please register to disable this ad.

2. vinylisfinyl

vinylisfinyl Member

Hmmm, can you describe the distortion to us at all? Is it a general lack of sound quality, or something specific like buzzing or lack of a certain frequency? Is the distortion present on only one channel? Present on all source inputs or just one? What are you using to feed audio into that bad boy?

I'm a bit new to stereo repair myself, but off the top of my head distortion may be caused a component like a resistor or capacitor that controls your amplifier going faulty.

Snuck likes this.
  3. Snuck

Snuck Member

Hello,

I get it on sunday, so I don't know at all, I tried to ask the guy about it but nothing came as answer, doesn't seems to know much. I am gonna dismantle it to check for issues, to try it out with my secondary system, tannoy jupiter S, and jvc xl-z cd driver to see how it goes. I lack of gear yet to try it all, but I wanna learn, I used to learn to build a sonar and such at school, thing was, they said it would be useless or undertasks for us, it wasn't "noble". So, I know my way with electronical gear since I really wanna repair systems to their optimum and repairers let me kinda disappointed.

I think the same actually, that and also solders that went bad, since the bias never got changed for 40 years, same for dead leds. At a repairer, could it be expensive repair till I get used to take care of gear?

Best regards and courage for the repair adventure! :D

4. willyrover

willyrover Super Member