Taming the Cerwin Vega 316R Hardrockers. A Fool's errand.

Restore or Mod

• Restore them to stock Cerwin Vega specs

Votes: 11 64.7%
  • Modify at will

Votes: 6 35.3%

• Total voters

Dan Carlson

Hi all. I am about to dip my toes into speaker building. Over the weekend I scored a pair of rough Cerwin Vega 316R cabinets. Missing the woofers and one of the rear-firing tweeters. Condition of the midranges is yet unknown. I know that these are rare bears but I really don't want the signature Cerwin Vega hard rock party speaker sound, and while the cabinets are intact, they are probably not nice enough to ever be of collector value if restored. So, I am treating them as a set of boxes with a decent amount of volume for a 15 inch woofer​

My end goal is to have a nice set of large speakers with sensitive drivers to go with tube gear in the future, for listening to a wide variety of genres, at moderate volumes. As I am a complete newb at this. I am soliciting an approach to selection of a set of economical drivers (perhaps Alnico?) and a crossover design to suit

Last edited:
I am aware that many will feel that this is folly, that driver design dictates cabinet volume and construction, as well as crossover design and I agree to a point. My benchmark here is ending up with something reasonably above mid-fi; a somewhat intentionally imperfect design. A warts and all throwback to the early days of Hi-Fi, when established design principles and formulae were still being developed, if you will. Certainly, if anyone has ideas about this then I am open to suggestions

Last edited:
Alnico JBL's as well as Altecs Even EV's are good.and would be an upgrade, They are widely available. Find out how big the cabinets are Cu Ft. for the correct port size.
Plenty of Drivers and xovers out there used. Cabinets should also be strengthened as well.
should be a fun project

Last edited: