Trying to decode turn on signal for ma500u's

audionut71

Hi all,
I'm new to AK but have been searching for answers to this issue for more than a year. Does anyone know (or can they find out) what the turn on signal for the Marantz ma500u THX monoblock amps is?

I have the manual to my amp and it lists the AV500, SR-92, SR-82, and SC-80 as having the BUS SYSTEM D-Bus /RC-5 remote outputs (which for some odd reason Marantz chose to use an orange RCA jack for) that will control these amps. I want to build a signal generator to turn these amps on.

If anyone in St. Louis area has one, I've got an oscilloscope that I will bring out to observe the "signal".

Thanks for any help you can give.

Let me expand my search... If anyone within 5 hours of STL (I'm a sales rep and am on the road constantly) has one of the above units and likes free beer, please pm me. I really hate firing these with an outboard turn on device.

Thx,
Audionut71

AN71,
Someone here might be able to help you with the codes. There are folks there who specialize in system integration.

Tom

I guess I'm not being clear here...

I don't need a remote code, the Marantz amps have an RCA jack that receives a proprietary signal of some sort from the surround preamp. I'm trying to figure out what that is.

Just some guesses: RC-5 is an infra-red protocol created by Philips; some of their machines (such a the original CD-R recorder, also sold under the Marantz name) have a hardwired RC5 socket on them too - this lets you activate any function on the recorder via cable remote.
Your equipment may be using the same technique.

If you download something like the Philips SAA3010 chip datasheet, it will give you the exact description of the protocol.
Such a chip would also generate the required signal - you'd just need to pipe it in via a cable rather than an IR LED.